Withdrawal Agreement Bill Tuesday

by Jill & Cathy on October 16, 2021

The most important elements of the draft agreement are:[21] Immediately after the announcement of a revised withdrawal agreement on 17 October 2019, Labour, the Liberal Democrats and the DUP declared that they could not support the new agreement. [30] The agreement covers issues such as money, citizens` rights, border arrangements and dispute settlement. It also includes a transition period and an overview of the future relationship between the UK and the EU. It was published on 14 November 2018 and was the result of the Brexit negotiations. The agreement was approved by the heads of state and government of the remaining 27 EU countries[9] and the British government of Prime Minister Theresa May, but met with resistance in the British Parliament, whose approval was required for ratification. The consent of the European Parliament would also have been required. On the 15th. In January 2019, the House of Commons rejected the Withdrawal Agreement by 432 votes to 202. [10] The House of Commons again rejected the agreement on March 12, 2019 by 391 votes to 242[11] and rejected it a third time on March 29, 2019 by 344 votes to 286.

On 22 October 2019, the revised withdrawal agreement negotiated by the Boris Johnson government was published in the first stage in Parliament, but Johnson suspended the legislative process when the accelerated approval programme did not find the necessary support and announced his intention to call a general election. [12] On 23 January 2020, Parliament ratified the agreement by adopting the Withdrawal Agreement. On 29 January 2020, the European Parliament approved the Withdrawal Agreement. It was then finalised by the Council of the European Union on 30 January 2020. The Withdrawal Agreement provides for a transition period until the 31st. December 2020, in which the UK will remain in the single market to ensure smooth trade until a long-term relationship is agreed. If no agreement is reached by that date, the UK will leave the single market on 1 January 2021 without a trade agreement. A non-binding political declaration on the future relationship between the EU and the UK is closely linked to the Withdrawal Agreement. On December 22, British lawmakers will vote in favor of Prime Minister Johnson`s EU withdrawal law, which enshrines an exit date of January 31, 2020 in law. Securing a majority to pass the bill in the House of Commons proved to be a major sticking point for the prime minister, but after a general election, Johnson`s Conservative Party won control of the House and the bill passed by a majority of 124 votes. Charles Michel, the president of the European Council, welcomed the vote, tweeting that it was an “important step in the process of ratifying Article 50”. He added: “A level playing field remains indispensable for any future relationship,” referring to the EU`s demand for fair competition in exchange for a free trade agreement with zero tariffs and zero quotas.

Lord Callanan (Conservatives), Minister for Exit from the European Union, opened the debate on the bill and responded on behalf of the government. The House of Commons supported an earlier version of the bill at second reading in October; However, he rejected the prime minister`s plan to get it passed by Parliament in just a few days, prompting him to push for a general election. Brexit Secretary Steve Barclay said the bill would respond to the “overwhelming mandate” given to his party to lead the UK out of the EU on January 31. The bill has now moved on to the second phase of the parliamentary process – the so-called committee phase. It will be analysed in detail over the next three days, with MEPs proposing amendments. On the EU side, the European Parliament also approved the ratification of the agreement on 29 January 2020[40] and the Council of the European Union approved the conclusion of the agreement by email on 30 January 2020[41]. [42] Accordingly, the European Union also deposited its instrument of ratification of the Agreement on 30 January 2020, thus supplementing the Agreement[43], allowing it to enter into force at 11 .m. .

Previous post:

Next post: